Books

STARVING MEN is a literary crime thriller set in modern-day Dublin and London in which an Irish psychiatrist, haunted by the role models who formed him as a child, takes an unthinkable revenge on behalf of his country. Enlisting the help of a newly arrived patient with a particular skill set, Dr. Michael Gleeson sets about targeting the living descendants of some of the worst men in Irish history.

"I can't get them, but I can get people to remember who they were."

Michael's plan doesn't go unnoticed, either by the police forces in Dublin or Scotland Yard or by the IRA, who will do anything to stop the current peace process from being jeopardized. But Michael has gone too far to let anyone hold him back.

Extract from Starving Men:

That was two years ago, and I admit it was a strange time for me then. It might have been O’Sullivan’s arrival that started me thinking, but whatever the reason, a photo of a dead man preoccupied my hours. It wasn’t just his ugly actions that bothered me, it was the ugliness of his face: the Neanderthal brows, beady eyes, far too much hair on his jowls, no matter what the century. And a wide, disgusted mouth. I’d find myself in my office in leafy green Ballsbridge, with Charles Edward Trevelyan looking out at me from the photo in my hand. Dressed in his suit and a snarl, the expression that says to this day,

     “The famine has been sent by God to teach the Irish a lesson.”

TBKCover2.jpg

For fans of Starving Men, The Brooklyn Killing is another O'Sullivan's story - not Turlough, but his sister Mairead, a New York cop who has a dark past of her own.

Only the worst thing in her past can save her.
The body of an unassuming nursing assistant turns up on Brooklyn Heights promenade, and Detective Mairead O'Sullivan is given the savage case. Capable and tough, this senior officer with the 84th precinct left Northern Ireland as a young woman to escape her part in the Troubles. She's made a good life in America - a quiet life - and has put behind her the incident that drove her from her childhood home.

Or so she believes.

The Brooklyn Heights killer may not be a stranger to Mairead, and the victim may not have been as unassuming as she seemed. In the end, Mairead may have to rely on her past to save herself, a past that has turned up in the form of her Irish Republican brother.
The Brooklyn Killing is a thriller set in contemporary New York, for readers of Tana French, Karin Slaughter, and Dennis Lehane.

© 2020 by SIOBHAN FINKIELMAN

  • My Facebook Author Page
  • My Twitter Feed